NBA: Wizards benefited from 3 calls vs. Heat

From ESPN - March 7, 2018

MIAMI -- The NBA said three plays were officiated incorrectly in overtime of Tuesday's Heat-Wizards game, all aiding Washington in what became its four-point victory.

The National Basketball Referees Association, however, disagreed with the league's assessment in one of those situations.

The league said a five-second inbounding violation should have been called against Washington with 12.2 seconds left in overtime, after determining that Markieff Morris did not release the basketball in time. Replays showed Morris held the ball for more than five seconds, which meant Miami should have gotten possession in what was then a one-point game.

But the NBRA said the officiating crew was right.

"We are taught to count to 5 and make sure the ball has not been released before calling a violation," the NBRA wrote on Twitter. "The official in this game got to 5 and the ball was released. It was the correct decision."

The NBA disagreed, calling it an incorrect non-call.


Continue reading at ESPN »