Beamer, Brown among 13 to enter Hall of Fame

From ESPN - January 8, 2018

Frank Beamer and Mack Brown, who own 524 career victories, 24 bowl wins and nine conference championships between them, were among the 13 players and coaches selected to the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame, it was announced Monday.

The class runs deep, beyond the transformative coaches. Miami safety Ed Reed, Georgia Tech receiver Calvin Johnson and Michigan cornerback Charles Woodson also join the class, all with the potential to one day make the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The group has so much star power, it is hard to pick just one headliner.

After all, Woodson won the Heisman Trophy in 1997 as primarily a defensive player; Reed won a national championship on perhaps the greatest college football team that ever played; Johnson revolutionized the receiver position; Beamer and Brown became legendary coaches for the way they transformed their respective teams.

Then there are the other great players in their own right who made the class:

Rice running back Trevor Cobb (1989-92); Penn State quarterback Kerry Collins (1991-94); Montana quarterback Dave Dickenson (1992-95); Illinois linebacker Dana Howard (1991-94); Temple running back Paul Palmer (1983-86); Georgia offensive tackle Matt Stinchcomb (1995-98); Nebraska offensive lineman Aaron Taylor (1994-97) and former Austin College and Northwest Missouri State coach Mel Tjeerdsma (1984-2010).

All honorees will officially be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Dec. 4 in New York City.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class," said Archie Manning, National Football Foundation Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments."


Continue reading at ESPN »