'On another level' - your Women's Rugby League World Cup guide

From BBC - November 14, 2017

England are one of six teams competing at the Women's World Cup, which starts in Sydney on Thursday.

The Lionesses open their campaign with the first of three group matches - against Papua New Guinea.

The tournament comprises six teams across two groups of three, with the top two in each qualifying for the semi-finals.

The final will take place in Brisbane on 2 December as part of a double-header, with the women's match followed by the men's final.

Who is competing?

Although England start against PNG they are not actually in the same group.

The opener is England's inter-group game, with their other two fixtures against their Group A opponents.

The Lionesses are in a group with host nation Australia - known as the Jillaroos - and the Cook Islands.

Canada, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea are the three teams in Group B.

All of the group games take place at the Southern Cross Group Stadium - often referred to as Endeavour Park - in Cronulla, Sydney.

Effectively, they take the form of three triple-headers, with games on 16, 19 and 22 November.

The semi-finals take place on the same day - 26 November - in Cronulla.

And, as mentioned earlier, the final will be at the famous Lang Park in Brisbane. That game takes place at 05:45 GMT on 2 December, with the men's game at 09:00 GMT.

Who is going to win?

Would it be a surprise to discover Australia are the hot favourites?

Does this tournament have much history?


Continue reading at BBC »